The Southern Cotton Shippers Association was organized in 1916 by a group of shippers from the Mississippi Delta and the Memphis market for the purpose of establishing a permanent arbitration board in New England on which the shippers of cotton would have their own representative. The successful outcome of this endeavor blazed the trail for shipper representation on arbitration boards in this country and abroad. In 1926 the territory of the Southern was enlarged to include the entire states of Tennessee, Mississippi, and Louisiana.

In 1955, the organization’s name was changed to “SOUTHERN COTTON ASSOCIATION”.

The objects and purposes of the Association were described in the Charter, as follows:

“The objects and purposes of said corporation are social and educational, to establish harmony and uniformity of trade customs and practices among its members and just and equitable principles in the cotton trade; to promote the general welfare of its members and others engaged in the cotton business, to decide and determine matters of difference among its members, and between its members and others, when submitted to it for arbitration; to gather, compile and disseminate information and statistics relating to matters of special interest to the cotton industry.”

In 1990 the Southern merged with the Arkansas-Missouri Cotton Trade Association, headquartered in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, and the territory of the Southern was enlarged to also include the states of Arkansas and Missouri.

Through the American Cotton Shippers Association, the Southern is affiliated with the:

Atlantic Cotton Association, Memphis, Tennessee

Texas Cotton Association, Dallas, Texas

Western Cotton Shippers Association, Memphis, Tennessee

The combined memberships of all of the Affiliated Associations form the membership of the American Cotton Shippers Association.


SCA President

Gerald Marshall

Jerry Marshall is an independent commodity trader who manages private trading accounts.  He spent 29 years with Cargill Cotton as a merchant and  was Senior Vice President in charge of worldwide risk management for cotton, as well as having overall responsibility for the company’s Latin American businesses.  He left in 2007 to start his own business, The Yiyang Company.

Jerry was ACSA president in 2001-02.  He served on the NCC Board and Executive Committee for several years, and was a director of The Seam LLC.  Currently he serves on the Board of the International Cotton Association in Liverpool.  He is a licensed international  arbitrator for ICA and consults with several large textile companies to assist them in managing their cotton risk.

SCA Board of Directors

John Stevens, Vice President, ECOM USA, Inc.

H. Thomas Hayden, Jr., Allenberg Cotton Company

Gerald Marshall, Past President, The Yiyang Company

Corey Barnes, Cargill Cotton

Shane Clausen, Glencore

Jeff Finley, MemTex Cotton Marketing, LLC

Barret Folk, Englehart Commodities Trading Partners

Kennett Jabbour, Jabbour Cotton Company, LLC

John King, Olam Cotton

Johnny McAdams, COFCO


Allenberg Cotton Co.

Cargill Cotton

COFCO Americas Resources Corporation

DECA International LLC


Engelhart Commodities Trading Partners

Glencore Ltd.

Lyons Cotton, Inc.

MemTex CottonMarketing, LLC

Olam Cotton

Panamerica Commodities Co.

Toyo Cotton Company

Toyoshima (U.S.A.), Inc.

Turley Cotton Co., Inc.


T. J. Beall Company

East Cotton Company

Farmers Cotton Company, Inc.

Hang Tung Resources (USA), Co.

Jabbour Cotton Company LLC

Nunn Cotton Company

Walcot Trading Company, LLC

The Yiyang Company


Cotlook Limited

Cotton Carriers, LLC

Cotton Grower Magazine

Dunavant Logistics,Group, LLC

Federal Compress & Warehouse



Mallory Alexander Intl Logistics

Rabobank Nederland

Sunbelt Warehouse, LLC

SunTrust Banks, Inc.

Wakefield Inspection Svc.Inc.